7×7 Link Award

I must extend my gratitude to a couple of fellow film bloggers,  Scott Lawlor at Front Room Cinema and Chris at Moviesandsongs365 who have extended their kindness in my direction by making me an ever more involved part of the community and handing me the 7×7 Link Award.

Without further ado, here is what the award is all about:

The rules of the 7×7 Link Award:

Rule # 1: tell everyone something that no one else knows about you

Rule # 2: Link to one of the posts that you personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece and Most Pride-Worthy Piece.

Rule # 3: Pass this award on to seven other bloggers

1. Something that no one else knows about me

Being so busy all the time, I often struggle to find time to keep this blog alive and updated. Because I have no desire to let it fall out of grace, I tend to take small (unrequested) breaks at work every couple of days so I can begin to write a post or two for the coming days. These are breaks I’m not supposed to take, but if I worked less hours, I would perhaps have more time once I get home. I usually come up with topics or the structure of my posts at work and then I polish and finish writing when I get home, unless I find time during the weekend, which hardly ever happens.

Link to Most Beautiful Piece

I am not sure there is anything in this blog of mine that I would describe as “beautiful”. Being that I usually associate beauty to feelings, I will have to say that the post of mine that has more feeling and is more concerned with beauty is my special post for Valentine’s Day found at My Dear Valentine: Romance and Film

Link to Most Helpful Piece

Again, I am not sure if I would consider anything that I have written particularly helpful. If anything, I would have to think that it needs to be a post that provided insight into content that I thought was important to share. I would have to go back to my one and only post on the category “Social Cinema” that touches upon an underrated documentary that covers the tragic events of September 11th in a raw, emotional and realistic way. It is, I think, a film everyone should watch, although it’s certainly very hard to do so. The value of this piece is that it was not meant to be a documentary of the tragedy, it just so happens that two filmmakers that were trying to record the lives of NYC firefighters were suddenly thrown in the midst of the tragedy. Social Cinema: 9-11

Link to Most Popular Piece

According to the stats provided by wordpress, the most popular post I have written is my review on Blade Runner as part of my IMDB Top 250 Challenge. We all know that there are many people out there that just search the web for images and I happen to feature a couple of them in that post that are very suitable for desktop backgrounds hahaha. IMDB Top 250: Blade Runner

Link to Most Controversial Piece

Not many people read it, but my post on the work (and the genius) of Roberto Benigni is a particularly divisive topic since most of the opinion towards him either falls on two polar opposites: those who love him and his work, and those who think is garbage. I am, as you will see, an ardent supporter of his. The Truth About Roberto Benigni (hint: he might be a genius)

Most Surprisingly Successful Piece

My recent IMDB Top 250 challenge review of Leon: The Professional has been a surprising hit given that it has attracted some fellow film bloggers and a high internet traffic that usually comes with images of cult favorites.

Most Underrated Piece

This one just did not seem to get noticed. It’s my one and only entry so far for my series on “Secret Films” in which I review a very good film that probably no one knows and that it’s probably very hard to get. Even then, I recommend it to anyone who has a chance to get their hands on it. Secret Films: Hermano (2010)

Most Pride-Worthy Piece

This one definitely has to go to the first entry of my Architecture and Film series given that I am especially qualified to speak about architecture since it’s my profession, and I think I did a good enough job at offering my connection between the two arts. Architecture and Film: Fritz Lang’s vision

Last but not least, I must pass this honor onto 7 fellow bloggers: 

To my friend at Inside My Head for being the motivator that she is in getting me to start blogging.

To one of the most entertaining and quality film bloggers out there: Ruth at FlixChatter

I also must give the honor back to Chris at Moviesandsongs365 and Scott at FrontRoomCinema for being so kind to me and for having two great blog of their own.

I also give it to Max at Impassionedcinema because he’s very much deserving.

To one of the best writers and cinephiles out there that, for the moment, seems to have taken a break: Anna at SplitReel

And lastly to the most unique blog I have found lately covering small, independent films: Bonjour Tristesse

Enjoy!

Niels

9 thoughts on “7×7 Link Award

  1. Hey thanks for tagging me Niels, and the kind words is always appreciated! I was thinking of doing this post and tagging you 😀

    Say today’s Google Doodle is Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, the German architect, and I immediately thought of you.

  2. No problem, I figured you had already gotten the 7×7 link award but I thought a little more blogging love couldn’t hurt.

    As far as Mies goes, it’s funny that you mention him because I’m actually a great admirer. I studied in the university of which he was a dean of in the 1950s and his legacy is still pretty much alive, not only on campus, but everywhere you look. I already touched upon him in a post I made about his highrises in Chicago, feel free to check it out.

    I was thinking I would do some sort of post regarding his birthday but I really have no time today. Maybe next year. Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Well, I look forward to another architecture/movie combo post… I always enjoy that. Even if it’s just a pictorial post of interesting architecture you saw in movies recently.

  3. Congrats for the award! This post surely show us some great post choices. Your special valentine post sure looks great.
    Blogging needs commitment for sure, and I too sometimes takes up a little work break to get a little writing. They helped a lot in tight schedules 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. You’re welcome, and thanks for the praise! I’ll take a look at what you wrote about Blade Runner.

    That’s impressive you manage to put these posts together considering you don’t usually blog at weekends.

    Roberto Benigni is actually in Woody Allen’s next movie, I saw him in the trailer, Benigni is starting to show his age.

  5. Congrats on receiving a nod! I’ll be on the lookout for 9/11Thanks for passing it on to me. I’m just now seeing this. Was this during the phase when I wasn’t getting your posts? I’ll be sure to do this and let you know.

Leave a Reply

