Top 10 films of a Ten Year Old

Inspired by Dan from Top 10 Films, I decided to basically steal his post and contribute to the conversation by providing a list of the ten films I enjoyed the most when I was younger, approximately at age 10, circa 1995.

I think you will notice a ten year old trying to watch films that are deemed inappropriate for someone that age, often going around the watchful eyes of his parents to watch a horror film, or catch a glimpse of the latest monster or the latest adventure. The list is practically made entirely of blockbusters that were either a product of the 1980s and early 1990s.
With the exception of Child’s Play and Rocky IV, all of these films still remain close to my heart and I consider them extremely entertaining and well done to this day.

Here is my list:

10. Child’s Play (1988)

I was introduced to the famed franchise by my uncle who, after a day of looking after me, probably decided to take a breather and distract me with a movie, albeit not one that kids should watch. Child’s Play was probably one of the first R-rated films I watched. I especially remember how upset my mom was when she found out I had seen it, afraid it would give me nightmares.

9. Honey I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

One of the most pleasurables adventure-type movies that emanated from the 1980s was also one of my favorites films as a kid. I found it to be entertaining and awe-inspiring, making my imagination run wild. The unexpected success of the franchise eventually led to amusement park attractions, action figures and a sequel.

8. Rocky IV (1985)

My relationship with Rocky Balboa started through my cousin, who simply loved Sylvester Stallone and any film he was in. To the eyes of most people, Stallone will remain forever connected to Rocky, a film that kickstarted his career and that quickly became iconic.
Of all of the installments, part 4 would become my favorite, simply because there was no bigger fight in the franchise than the one pitting Rocky against the giant russian, Ivan Drago.

7. Aladdin (1992)

Having been born and raised in Venezuela, my first memories of animated films are in Spanish, so much so that it is hard for me to enjoy or even accept the voice of the genie when done by Robin Williams. Aladdin, in traditional Disney fashion, centers on a romantic story of an unlikely couple, a rehash of the typical princess tale framed within a whole different environment. Great soundtrack, great voicework in multiple languages, dynamic and vivid animation and great characters all contributed to make one of the gems of the Walt Disney repertoire.

6. Big (1989)

How can anyone not enjoy this film. Based on a desire that is as old as time: a kid who wants to be a grown-up and skip all of the “nuisance” that is childhood. Tom Hanks’ performance as the kid’s old self is infectiously fun, hilarious and the product of a fine actor at the top of his comedic craft. The story is heartfelt, simple yet carefully crafted and never failing to entertain. Still one of my favorite films from the 1980s.

5. Terminator 2: Judgement Day (1991)

Talk about entertainment. Perhaps Arnold’s best role in a film that played to all of his strengths as an actor. The second installment of the saga is perhaps the best of all, improving on an already successful formula by introducing a fast-paced story where Arnold now plays the good guy protecting a kid who unknowingly holds the future of humanity in his hands. From the special effects to the suspense of the endless chase, Terminator 2 is one of the most fun experiences you can have, and I was lucky to have been introduced to it at such an early age.

4. Alien (1979)

Ridley Scott’s masterpiece fascinated me as a child and even more as an adult. I simply could not get enough of the suspense, the futuristic space-era machinery and the monster, oh the monster, perhaps the most delicately designed film creature of all time. Even though I loved the first installment of the series as a child, I didn’t love it as much as I do today. Perhaps I didn’t appreciate the slow, quieter moments as much as I do now.

3. Jurassic Park (1993)

What can be said about Jurassic Park that has not been said before? One of Spielberg’s greatest success stories. Its groundbreaking effects only served to enhance an already imaginative and fascinating story that had not been as carefully explored before. If there is anyone out there who still has not seen it, I’d suggest you get to it….NOW!

2. Predator (1987)

As it is probably obvious by now, I was a child that was in love with sci-fi, action flicks and, above all else, people getting chased and killed by monsters or diabolical creatures. It is no wonder that as a child I would rather play with the bad guys causing havoc than with the good guys trying to keep the peace.

Predator is still an immensely entertaining film that beyond its corny moments, knows how to deliver thrills, surprises and suspense. Yet another example of a very well designed monster pitted against the greatest action star of a generation: Mr. Arnold.

1. Aliens (1986)

Unlike the first film, Aliens, directed by James Cameron, was the more fun of the two, especially for a kid barely entering his teens. The suspense is ever-growing, the stakes are greater and Ripley is more bad ass than ever. This is less of a horror film and more of an action-packed sequel that delivered thrills almost constantly. It was, at its core, the same as the original film, but on drugs. It was grander, more exciting and more explosive. Everything a kid like me wanted to see.

Honorable mentions: The Goonies, The Gremlins, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Tango & Cash

Next on the Blog of Big Ideas: The Architecture & Design Film Festival

23 thoughts on “Top 10 films of a Ten Year Old

  1. I’d tend to agree with a lot of these, especially as a child. Despite being born in 94 I remember watching these films a lot: Lion King, The Aristocats, Forrest Gump, Toy Story, and Star Wars.

    Some of which are still my favorite today.

    1. 94? You’re so young and such a good writer/blogger/film conosseiur already.
      I was an odd kid, I enjoyed the animated family films but they weren’t my favorites. I was more into Marvel comics/cartoons until my mid teens

  2. I guessed at least five of these before I even read the list. I guess this is the era where our taste in movies connect. Although I had no idea you like Honey I Shrunk the Kids. I watched that sooooo many times growing up and who doesn’t love Big? Chopsticks is forever in it’s debt.

    My mom almost bought a Chucky doll once. Of course she had no idea what it was. We strongly urged her against it.

    1. Big is one of those films that I wouldn’t understand people disliking. There’s so much innocence and the concept is so fun and well done. Tom Hanks was perfect for the role.

      I’m glad your mom didn’t get you that doll…creepy and odd choice I must say. You may have turned into a different person if you had one lol

    1. I may have forgotten a couple of films here and there but who can really remember everything they were into when they were ten. I remembered these films and I tried to put them in order, Child’s Play is the first horror movie that left an impression on me so I thought I would mention it.

  3. Excellent pick of films here. I think I did more, or less, see most of these when I was about 10. With the addition of Robocop.

    When you’re 10, you’re at that age when you still really enjoy the “kids” films like Aladdin and Honey I Shrunk the Kids, but you think you’re old enough to try those “adult themed” films with their violence and swear words like Terminator and Alien.

    Great selection!

    1. Ah Robocop! How could I forget Robocop?! It may have not made it into my top 10 for a 10 year old, but I definitely watched it a few times. It was one of those films that was always on tv.

      Excellent observation about ten year old kids and their attitude towards cinema, I agree with you completely.

  4. If I watched some of those films when I was ten, I probably wouldn’t sleep for a month. That being said I was a huge fan of Aladdin.

  5. Interesting idea. I don’t remember what I liked when I was 10 though, probably tons of Disney movies like Sleeping Beauty or The Little Mermaid 🙂 I need to re-watch Jurassic Park again, I saw it on the big screen when it came out and loved it!

  6. You had to put up that picture of chucky now didn’t you? Now I will be lucky not to have that little sob invade my nightmares. Great list overall some of my favorites on there including those two Alien films, and Predator.

    1. I’m glad Predator is getting so much love here. It’s corny in just the right places as I like to say. It goes a long way when you have a film that centers around a monster and its design is so amazing.

  7. This is pretty awesome. A few of my younger favorites are in there, but another one of my favorites near age ten was Toy Story. I even had the black & white Gameboy game, too. 🙂

  8. wow, you got to some of these movies an an early age, watching Child’s Play as a 10-year-old would have freaked me out big time, let alone today! Can understand your mums reaction ( :

    Big (1988) and Honey I Shrunk the Kids (1989) were more my cup of tea back then, loved both!
    I see you love Alien and Aliens, what are your thoughts on the upcoming prequel Prometheus (2012)?

    1. I can’t wait to see Prometheus. I’m probably going to try to squeeze into a screening or catch it right on premiere day. I hope it’s not a huge disappointment like Alien Resurrection, or worse, Alien vs Predator. It’s encouraging to see Ridley Scott as the director in command of a strong cast. It gives me some hope.

Leave a Reply

